autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Purchasing new porter cable + accessories...

Hello all. I am in the process of putting together an order for a polisher for my own personal use. I have a white 2007 denali, and 2001 white trans am ws6.

Anyways, this is my first time using a polisher and I need some tips for what to purchase with my polisher. I found a lot of packages here and I want to ask all you veterans which kit would be best for my use.

I like the porter cable 7424xp. My questions are which pads, polish, and other accessories I should purchase at the same time. My trans am is a garage queen and has very little to no marring. But my truck is outside 24/7 and has moderate marring and scratches.

I was thinking a few orange pads, and some white ones. I'm a little confused on which compound and polish I should get. I plan on topping it all off with collinite 476 or 845.

Also, how many pads of each color should I get? It's a big truck so I would like to not have to clean them until I finish the whole job.

Thanks for all the feedback you can throw my way. Im sure I have more questions, but this is all I can think of at this point.

Regards,

Brian

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Purchasing new porter cable + accessories...

Brian, i would recommend getting at least 1 mf cutting disk to compare how much faster it will cut than foam. if you can afford three colors of each pad, except the sealant or wax pad,that's what i would recommend. The pc needs to cut on speed 6 with about 15 lbs of pressure. get a 5'' backing plate so you can easily use 5 or 5.5 pads.
    Why not go for the flex?