autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Free orbiting vs Forced Driven DA's

Hi all,

I'm a beginner just starting out, bought a convertible a few weeks ago, in very good condition except the car has swirls on it from the previous owners washing it at those car wash places (at least that's what I think).

So my objective is to use a polisher that is SAFE for a noob like me. Now from reading around different forums etc... I know the Porter Cable 7424 is the answer but this isn't readily available in the UK and the shipping costs are a bit steep tbh.

Hence the following questions about the Porter Cable 7424:

1) What is the "default" of DA's, are they free spinning like the PC [which is the thing that makes it safe for us noobs) or forced driven like the Flex?

2) This leads on to my next question: Would any variable speed DA polisher do as an alternative to the PC? [The reason I ask is because I'm not sure if the function that stops the pad from oscillating when pressed too hard is something that is specific to the PC or is universally applicable to all DA's?]

3) Lastly, can anyone suggest an alternative to the PC? I'm in the UK.

Thanks!

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Free orbiting vs Forced Driven DA's

I think a beginner is safe to use a Flex 3401. No need to upgrade later.

Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by dlc95 View Post
    I think a beginner is safe to use a Flex 3401. No need to upgrade later.
    The Junkman put me off of that idea. I want one that is not forced driven

Mike Phillips

Quote Originally Posted by worriedlearner View Post

Hi all,