autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: Getting set for first time DA use

I have a blue jean metallic F-150, and a tuxedo black explorer sport. So, I deal with dark colored fords all the time at home. I really labored back and forth between the Griots DA, and the Porter Cable. I went with the PC only because they had a really good sale on it. I've used it four times now, so please see this as my experience as a complete newbie too.

I've only used an All in one (McKee's 360) and applied sealant (griots paint sealant) with the DA so far. My truck wasn't too swirled and the 360 with an orange CCS pad did a great job. I could probably do most of it next time with a white CCS pad. We bought the car in November. It looked like it went through car wash hell, and it's black. I used the same approach with it because I wanted some protection on it for the winter. It needs a stronger compound. Right now I'm trying to decide what to buy. I'm leaning towards the McKee's fast compound because it sounds very forgiving. It should also pair well with a bottle of XMT-1 I received in a mystery box last year (McKee's merged a couple AG product lines into one with some improvements in certain products). I may get some Meguiars ultimate compound for the same reason. I use the blue wax removal towels available on here. Cost is right. They're on a bogo deal right now too.