autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0

Thread: First real try

Post Thanks / Like

First real try

Hi All,

The forum encouraged me to post. I wasn't sure where to put this so here it is.

First off, thank you to everyone. I have always enjoyed washing my car and with your help I feel like I have moved up to a new level. I am by no means a pro but I have gotten unsolicited compliments on my paint which is very cool.

I have a Black Granite 2014 Chevrolet Diesel Cruze which sat on the lot for 6 months before I took delivery so the paint was a little rough but not terrible.

I used:

1. Two bucket method with Meguiars gold car wash.
    2. Meg's clay kit
    3. Griot's DA
    4. Meguiar's 205 on a Lake Country pad (i bought a kit from here and just followed the instructions)
    5. Applied Wolfgang Paint Sealant 3.0 with a white pad and then buffed off with a microfiber bonnet on a lambswool leveler.

The pictures are from a week, 250 miles, a nasty construction site 2 days a week and a couple of rainstorms later. The first rainstorm was at work and all the water was off by the time I got home. The one I got a picture of was the car sitting in the driveway why I was cleaning the garage.

I then bucket washed the car, dried it with a leaf blower and then went over it with a meg's waffle weave. I used DP wheel cleaner.

I think it came out pretty well, better than anything I have ever paid anyone else for anyway. It is hard to keep a 50 mile a day daily driver looking nice but the Wolfgang stuff is RIDICULOUS. It feels like cheating.

Anyway, thanks for helping me to be a more responsible car owner.