autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 22 1234567891011 ... LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Thumbs up 2014 Fall Dragon Run...10/8 thru 10/12

I've been organizing this run down to the Dragon since 2003 and I've gone every year since then. So what is "the Dragon", well alot of info can be had here Tail of the Dragon at Deals Gap, motorcycle and sport car two lane tourism serving Tail of the Dragon at Deals Gap, Cherohala Skyway, Moonshiner28, Devils Triangle, and Six Gap North Georgia. but I guess the best place to start is with the basics. "The Tail of the Dragon" starts at Deal's Gap Motorcycle Resort, intersection of route 28 and 129, which is in North Carolina and quickly goes into Tennessee in about 1/4 mile. There's 318 turns in 11 miles, yes you read that right...THREE HUNDRED AND EIGHTEEN TURNS IN ELEVEN MILES! The road is a two laner, smooth with banked turns but has NO sideroads, NO homes, NO business, so its a straight shot. Recently more "pull offs" have been installed for those whom need to pull over to let a large group to pass you or to catch your wind or maybe even to "toss your cookies", I've seen it happen! When you get close to the end there's a short rock wall on both sides of the road where you can pull over and actually take a break and take in the view, as long as there's noone else doing the same thing or there's a bunch of bikes there, not a whole lotta room. Continuing on from there is about another 2 miles where you'll come to a large clearing, on the right, which is blacktopped and here you'll find plenty of room to let you car/bike cool down, especially your brakes which are usually a shade of blue from the heat, we call this being a