autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Unhappy Is It A Paint Problem

I posted this thread to a different site, but thought I would put it up front for some assistance (thanx to joe.p for his input). I have two cars with metallic/pearl paint and noticed that after detailing that there appears to be a subtle ripple in the paint surface. It feels smooth, but reflections appear fuzzy and I can't match the look many of the members have on their vehicles after detailing (not that I could anyway since I'm still an amateur at this). But I was wondering if it's the nature of the metallic paint or a bad paint job. And, if there is any detailing procedure that would eliminate this and give me a smooth clear reflection. Any help would be appreciated.

Post Thanks / Like
    Is this similar to what you are talking about?

If it is, it is called orange peal. There are ways to reduce it or eliminate it, but it requires wetsanding and compunding. Sometimes, you can't eliminate it without taking off to much clear. But basically, it is a problem with the paint. It is cause by the way the paint flows on the panel while it is drying due to how thick or thin the paint was mixed and sprayed.
    What if the Hokey Pokey IS what it's all about???

Post Thanks / Like
    Unfortunately that's the way most cars look from the factory. They are more concerned with speed than qualty paint finish. I think I heard it's typically because they bake it too quick or something.

Post Thanks / Like