autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Is anyone's car in pristine condition?

Like most here, I'm a hobbyist detailer. I keep my car as clean as reasonably possible and even carrY a portable car vac in my trunk when I go away on trips with friends. Coatings done for paint protection. PPF on entire front on vehicle.
    When I take my car to work in NYC, I almost never park on the street and schmooze the guys in the parking garage to give my car some extra care. Park way to the back of the parking lots when shopping.

So when giving my (only 4 month old) car a wipe down after a wash yesterday, I noticed two small pings (one pic shown) in the rear bumper!!! I know, I know it's inevitable, but sometimes make me question, why I'm spending all this time (well I do enjoy it) trying to keep the car in as pristine condition as possible when if my car is out of the driveway, its condition is up for grabs. I mean, I ain't losing sleep over it, but annoying nonetheless. I guess I may just add a small trailer hitch to protect the back bumper, but sometimes I'm reminded of what my friend's mother mentioned to him many years ago - "the car belongs to the street."

Is anyone's car in pristine condition?-thumbnail_img_7013-2-jpg

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Is anyone's car in pristine condition?

Yeah, if it is your daily driver, you are gonna get some "pings". As careful as I am, I have found 2 "door dings" since I have owned my truck from careless morons that don't have any respect. (Thank God for PDR guys!)

Unless you have a garage queen that only goes on short trips on the best of days, in is inevitable.
    It is no coincidence that man's best friend cannot talk.

Post Thanks / Like