autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

What computer are you using?

Hey guys, while my computer is compiling a video, decided to chat a bit about computer systems.

Before starting my detailing business, I was a manager for a computer store for 6 years. So I love the subject just as much as detailing

So... Right now I have 2 computers, my main rig is already 6 years old, purchased it in 2011. It's an Intel Core i7 2600K system. Been waiting since then
    for something decent to come out to upgrade but in the last 5 years the market has been stagnant due to the fact AMD had no competitive products.

My second computer is an older Intel Core2Quad Q6600 system. It's about 10 years old, but it's equipped with all the bells and whistles (SSD boot drive, 2 Tb Data Drive, 16 Gb of Ram, 3 monitors configuration, you name it and it has it).

So I was waiting for AMD to release Ryzen to upgrade last month. Since the new CPU came out, I decided to wait since there are a lot of issues with Ryzen still. Very nice processor but manufacturers still need to optimize the BIOS for the motherboards and fix the memory support issues. Also software optimization is needed for the processor to perform correctly in some situations. So with all that said, I think I will wait for Intel to release their answer to Ryzen (coming out in July according to computer rep I spoke to).

I just upgraded my video gear and have started working with 4K videos. Those are pretty heavy and take a long time to render. On my Core2Quad it takes 35 minutes to render each minute of video and on my Core i7 it takes 12 minutes to render each minute of video. A new system will be able to render at the very least twice as fast.