autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Developing New Polishes...Input from AGO

Hi everyone,

I am working on developing a new set of polishes in an attempt to deliver a system that is body shop safe, does not dust and delivers the cut and finish comparable to the best in the industry. Right now, I am in the early stages. Basically researching different substituents to deliver ideal lubrication, working time, cutting and finishing abilities. So far, I have been detailing for 6 years and have tried a wide variety of polishes, each having their own strengths and weaknesses. Some cut well, but do not finish well. Some finish well but are difficult to remove. Some dust, some dry up, some are too mild, some sling too easy, etc. I have yet to find a perfect polish so I want to develop one that is as close to perfect as possible.

What I need is input from the Autogeek community on what they look for in an ideal polish.

What grit should it be able to remove?

How long should the working time be?

How much cut should be delivered?

How much product per section?

Basically anything that you look for in a polish, and maybe some examples of strengths and weaknesses of polishes you have used.

For instance: M105 cuts great (1500g removed from most paint) and finishes very nicely, but it dries quickly is difficult to remove if it sits and dusts.
    Jon Miles

Mike Phillips

Re: Developing New Polishes...Input from AGO

Are you going to specifically try to go after body shop business? That is removing sanding marks out of fresh paint?