autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Newbie: use of detailing products & clear films (like 3M)

Hi All, newbie here and 1st post. Just bought a package from AG after relying on a favorite car wash for the past 9 years. They recently changed owners and apparently techniques as I swore by this place and now started noticing swirls in the paint.

Not only that, but they're not located close to me and instead of spending the money & time to go to them I started looking at doing it myself. Then I found AG here.

I started with my first wash/wax the other weekened using the Pinnacle products (along with DP for wheels, Stoner for windows, Cobra for MF products, etc.). So, just a newbie and did a lot of reading/cross-referencing between the advice on the AG product pages and the reviews from folks. So, I could be way off on what you all think is "best".

Anyway, I washed 3 cars so far (a weekend toy [Mazda Miata] I just sold, my daily driver [BMW X3] and also mom's weekend car [MBZ C320]). The results have been pretty nice after many years of these cars not getting good attention. Looking forward to additional cleanings/coats of wax to really see how the products do.

Sorry, long-winded intro.... here's the actual topic:

I have a new toy & daily driver coming this weekend (2007 Porsche Boxster) and am strongly considering having a professional apply a clear protective film. It's going to cost around $800-1000 and the installer is well regarded. My question is, what is the general consensus around here about living long-term with such a film and the interaction of detailing products with it?