autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Help with detailing bikes.

As some of you know, I have a side bizs of detailing. A few of my customers ask me about detailing bikes. What's the going rate? Where do I start? What I can't get wet? I'm thinking it's the same process as a vehicle. Anything I need to look for? I told them I've never done a bike before, and let me do some research before I give them a price. So if anyone has done this, or detailing bikes now, I would appreciate it.

Post Thanks / Like
    I would talk to "3Dog" if I were you. His business is hogtailing.

Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by FloridaNative
    I would talk to "3Dog" if I were you. His business is hogtailing.
    Hogtailing LOL!! Well it's two hogs and one rice burner.

EDIT I sent 3Dog PM. Thanks FN
    Last edited by sparkie; 09-29-2006 at 10:31 AM.

Post Thanks / Like
    Sparkie,

I can offer some minimal advice (as I ride and take care of my own ride)...

First, you "can" use water, but do so easily. For example, do not use high pressure towards the carbs, intakes, and electronics. I use to do a standard hoze wash, but for the past three years, I've switched to simply spritzing water from a spray bottle, and gently rubbing with a towel.

Next, be very careful of pinstriping. Some of the pinstripers don't use auto quality paint, so it can be taken off (expecially if you try to use power buffers).