autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 7 1234567 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Too many hobbies...

Titled because I'm starting to think that I may have a problem My involvement with 'hobbies' generally gravitate from being very green with little knowledge to reading forums and books until I could probably start a business. That said, I honestly do a LOT of different things (which probably drives my wife crazy, but she never admits it). By trade/career I'm an electrical engineer, but I've been a sole-proprietor of a car audio business for over 10 years now. That business has since expanded in various directions including home audio and video, some commercial work as well, window tinting (at one time), fabric imprinting, and vinyl graphics. It has also been a means for me to learn a bit about web design.

In 2008 I bought my first home (and got married), which led me to home automation. I spent a few years researching various automation technologies and companies. A little over a year ago I started automating things in my home - for now it's really just a specialized alarm system with automated lighting and control of my garage door, but will be expanded to a number of different things as money and time is available. Since I'm a fan of pictures I'll add one here of the retrofit wiring that I've done in the past year - this was taken while I was about 90% done as you can see a few stray wires that are still hanging outside of the panel: