autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0

Thread: Hello!

Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Hello!

I am a detail hobbyist and have been almost since I started driving (back in the '80's) but only in the past 3 years or so have I actually realized what detailing actually entails. As a teenager, I could happily spend the day in the garage with my car washing, polishing, waxing and generally doing my best to make my car look as good as my meager skills and knowledge could. When I say "polishing" as it relates to then, I had the product and applied it by hand without actually understanding how to use it - I would say I used it in a way that people would use a glaze.

I sort of got away from the hobby for a few years, neglected the paint on my car and before I knew it, the desert sun had taken its toll on my car. It was embarrassing and I was ashamed my neglect resulted in that massive clearcoat failure that my car had become. Then that car was totaled. I inherited my wife's car as my daily driver and bought my wife a newer car vowing to keep them in as good a condition as I could. As I live in Arizona and my car lives outside, I must be vigilant in keeping my paint protected from the relentless sun.

In this day of youtube and these forums, I devoured hours of videos and forum threads rekindling my lost passion of detailing. I have been acquiring products and tools along with more skills and understanding of the hobby as I practice in my garage on the weekends. A big step for me was successfully polishing the hazed headlights on my car which gave me the confidence to try polishing paint.