autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

New guy wanting to learn

Hello,

I've been a lurker on this forum for awhile and finally decided to join. I am new to detailing, but it is quickly becoming one of my favorite hobbies. I have always taken care of my vehicles, but never did more than clay bar and apply wax by hand. Last December I got a new (to me) truck and decided I wanted to ramp up my truck care since I plan on keeping this one for awhile. I've slowly been collecting more products and chemicals for my collection and increasing frequency of my maintenance washes. I recently picked up an older Porter Cable DA and plan on trying my hand at polishing for the first time in the near future.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: New guy wanting to learn

Welcome to the Forum!
    I too started out with a Portal Cable DA orbital. Great tools to learn and progress with. Now, get a Lake Country velcro backing plate so you can try different pads for different needs.

Mike Phillips

Quote Originally Posted by mcr1911 View Post

Hello,

I've been a lurker on this forum for awhile and finally decided to join. I am new to detailing, but it is quickly becoming one of my favorite hobbies. I have always taken care of my vehicles, but never did more than clay bar and apply wax by hand. Last December I got a new (to me) truck and decided I wanted to ramp up my truck care since I plan on keeping this one for awhile. I've slowly been collecting more products and chemicals for my collection and increasing frequency of my maintenance washes. I recently picked up an older Porter Cable DA and plan on trying my hand at polishing for the first time in the near future.