autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Post Thanks / Like

Here to Learn, From NE Oklahoma

Hello AGO,

Glad to be here! Found this site while searching the web for detailing tutorials...I'm definitely a total novice at detailing. I have to confess that for years, I didn't properly care for the paint on my vehicles - not out of carelessness or laziness, but mostly out of ignorance. Without knowing any better, I always thought that scrubbing the grime off in the driveway regularly, and applying a cheap retail wax job maybe once a year, was proper care.

Well about 6 weeks ago I bought a new 2018 Chevy crew cab truck, and decided that I wanted to learn a bit more about proper detailing and paint maintenance. My wife had recently gotten an acquaintance of her's who has a detailing business to do a full detail of her 2011 Camaro. It came home looking better than it did when it was still on the dealer's showroom floor! That's when it occurred to me that there was plenty I didn't know or understand about caring for a car's surfaces -both interior and exterior. At first, my goal is just to learn enough to give my own vehicles a proper, professional-looking detailing. Later, if my knowledge and skill justify it, I might try using those skills to start a side-gig detailing business.