autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: One step pain

Post Thanks / Like

One step pain

So last night I performed a One-Step Detail for a family members BLACK repainted Nissan Altima. Needless to say it wasn't fun and took about 8-9 hours total. I'm a student and started the project after class (around 2 PM) and ended closer to 10. I'm in Connecticut so about half of the polishing stage was in the dark with a construction light. I'm used to detailing during peak of sunlight and don't do many one step details during the fall aside from maintenance reapplication of wax. Also, i only achieved maybe 60% correction. Now my question is, How can I be more efficient and work quicker. The service I performed was:
    -Wash with 2 Bucket method, applied foam with Gilmore Foam gun
    -Clayed the car before doing a final rinse (thorough foam reapplications for lube)
    -Dried "blade" and leaf blower
    -Menzerna PF2500 on WHITE 6.5" LC Pad speed 6 PC 7424 (about 4-6 passes per section), 3" pads on bumper and thin panels.
    -Waxed with Collonite, bumpers and side skirts Mothers Reflections Cleaner waxed followed by Collonite.
    -Exterior plastics dressed with Mothers Back to Black
    -Interior wipe down + protection
    -Vacuum, washed weather mats
    After all this I was questioning whether I charged enough, $100, but also received a 25$ tip. What would you guys charge for this and how would you make this more of a "production detail". I'm upgrading to 5" pads after this job. But how would some of you veterans treat a job like this? Looking for any advice I can get to be more professional and efficient.