autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: Don't wax your car for at least 30 days!

What I never understood about the outgasing process is how does the base coat outgas all the solvents with clear coat on top of it? Wouldn't that be about the same as putting a wax over the clear coat? I'm a noob and no chemist when it comes to this, just never really understood the physics behind it.

Post Thanks / Like

Great write up!

I just had my left side, front and back, doors resprayed, and the bodyshop said wait 8 weeks before waxing because the paint will dry from the inside-out. (It's hot and humid here, just like Florida)

The fresh paint and clear coat tells me the rest of my car needs a polish. Bad! LOL!

It's hard to wait 8 weeks, but I'm going to.....

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Mike.Phillips@Autogeek View Post
    I'm trying but I'm not sure I understand exactly what you mean by your wording? So instead of guessing I'll refrain from trying to comment...

From experience, I think it's safe to say that most painters know that most of their customer's don't know a lot about detailing in general and fresh paint dos and don't in specific, so they want to keep things simple and get the car back to the owner and then get back to work, not have an in-depth class or discussion on paint chemistry.

For this reason, when you pick up your car from your painter, either the painter or the shop manager or the owner of the shop will say something very generic like...

Hi Mr. Smith,

Here's your keys, thank you for your payment, recommend us to your friends and wait about 30 days before you wax your car.