autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Page 29 of 32 FirstFirst ... 1920212223242526272829303132 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: The Secret to Removing Oxidation and Restoring a Show Car Finish to Antique Single Stage Paints

I'm just here to give a huge THANK YOU for this incredible write up. As a beginner, I learned so much.

Loving this forum!

Mike Phillips

Re: The Secret to Removing Oxidation and Restoring a Show Car Finish to Antique Single Stage Paints

Quote Originally Posted by Eric7810 View Post

I'm just here to give a huge THANK YOU for this incredible write up. As a beginner, I learned so much.

Loving this forum!

Why thank you!

And I just replied to your question here using information from the first page of this thread.

Can center caps be corrected?

Post Thanks / Like

Would this technique work on aircraft paint to remove oxidation? Also could you do an ipa wipe after the polishing step, then apply a coating?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Mike Phillips

Quote Originally Posted by Jeremy5431 View Post

Would this technique work on aircraft paint to remove oxidation?
    Yes but - I would only do this treatment if the paint on the aircraft were ANTIQUE.

If it's a modern aircraft that simply has oxidized single stage paint then get a good one-step cleaner/wax like BLACKFIRE One Step, some foam pads and an orbital polisher and go to town.

Also - if it's chalky white paint - consider using the "Cheater Technique" I use to know down the loose dead paint during the wash job and then hit it with the BLACKFIRE One Step. That's what we did with the original single stage paint on this classic Cadillac.