autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Question Lake Country CCS pads - how to video?

I'm a newbie to using a buffer for paint correction on my black 2014 Benz E-class. I've been using the same tips a nice reseller of Mothers products gave me over 15 years ago (Ray from Waxstation.com, now defunct). I've only ever detailed by hand but I noticed swirls in the paint shortly after I bought this car in 2017, but with 3 kids, job, etc. I never invested the time in attempting to fix it, just hide it a little with qd spray and occasional claying/waxing.

I have a Griot's Garage 6" orbital buffer, and just ordered some orange Lake Country CCS pads, and some white ones. I have Mothers Rubbing Compound for the orange and Polishing for the white pads. I have seen that with the CCS pads it seems you apply some dime sized "dots", and other videos where before you buff you actually press the product lightly onto the paint from the pad without the machine running. (I will be doing the Mothers Clay Bar treatment after a wash before I begin using the machine.)

What I can't find on here or YouTube is an instrutional video on how to use the pads from start to finish: priming the pad (is this necessary? how do I do this?); applying product to it (how much?), I'm assuming I need to use a quality microfiber towel to buff out any excess product, but do I let rubbing compound & polish dry to a haze the same way one would do with a wax, or not? - and of course using the compound & polish itself with the buffer, especially in difficult corners or edges, near headlights & glass, etc.