autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Help I am a little lost

Sorry, I am a total newbie at detailing cars. I winded up here because I did a lot of research in trying to find a good detailer and found that most "Auto Spas" had always so and so reviews. So I was a little scared to take my car to get detailed. I found someone but was charging so much that I thought I might as well do it myself.

However, I became very much overwhelmed with all of this information and some what lost and hoping that someone can give me a quick insight on some of my questions. and would be greatly appreciative of it.

I have a 2011 black Mercedes E350, I took it to to the "detail" shop in our office building and the guy told me I had overspray on it but I think he may had something to do with it as his wash was real crappy. Now I just want to do it myself.

The biggest things I have trouble with is the various Polishes, Waxes, etc on to how many do you use and in what order. Am I suppose to use 5 different liquids in a detail or just pick one and then wax it?

I want to do the clay bar treatment and I have a swirls and a few light scratches on my paint (there are sections on my car that feel a little rough, not smooth and glidely like paint should on car)

After the clay bar treatment. What type of solutions should I have and in what order. I saw here that there are different level of glaze, cutting liquid, top coats, sealants, etc.

Any information would be really helpful and sorry that I sound detail ignorant but I have to start somewhere.

Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: Help I am a little lost