autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thread: Pads

Post Thanks / Like

Pads

Just need some insite on the Buff & Shine Uro pads. Just watched a video on one of Mike's videos, and they seem like good pads. I'm a true rookie so I'm trying to narrow down my selection to what ya recommend on your top 3 choices. And as always thank you for your help.

Mike Bradford
    Hattiesburg, Ms

2. Likes TMQ liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: Pads

Quote Originally Posted by drmikeyb View Post
    Just need some insite on the Buff & Shine Uro pads. Just watched a video on one of Mike's videos, and they seem like good pads. I'm a true rookie so I'm trying to narrow down my selection to what ya recommend on your top 3 choices. And as always thank you for your help.

Mike Bradford
    Hattiesburg, Ms
    Both buff and shine Uro-fiber and uro-tec pads are in my opinion the best long-throw pad option. I use the Rupes MKII 15 and I've narrowed my pads down to

-uro-fiber: heavy defect removal and 1-step correction on hard paints. The uro-fiber pad runs significantly cooler than other microfiber pads and I can easily get 20-30 uses per pad compared to about 5-10 uses out of meguiar's microfiber cutting pads). Uro-fiber doesn't have the initial cut of the Megs or Lake country microfiber pads, but because the uro-fiber runs so much cooler the lubricants in your compound won't dry up as fast extending the buffing cycle. Also, the uro-fiber pad does still matte down like the megs and LC microfiber do, but because the fibers are slightly longer on the uro-fiber they don't seem to matte down quite as much.