autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

My BOSS MF pad melted!

I think I learned my lesson. Don't use the innerflex pad for an entire hood with one MF pad. I'm a newb to this whole DA thing. I've been using a rotary (Perfect-It 3 step system) on my '65 GTO for the last couple of years, but always ended up with holograms. I bought a new G6 with BOSS pads, innerflex and vented 5.5 backing plate. I put the innerflex pad on to work some fenders and just forgot to take it off(or didn't know any better). After about the 4th brush and air cleaning the pad just flew off down the driveway about 20 feet. Scared the heck out of me. I soon realized that the MF pad and the innerflex pad had melted together and separated at the foam. Don't think there's anything wrong with the pads, just something wrong with the user. Oh well, it's about a $40.00 mistake. One that I won't make again. I absolutely love the Griot's and the BOSS system combined, they really do work well together. I'm now thinking about the G15 or G21. The ability to choose almost infinite combinations is incredible. I was chasing down about 20 RIDS on my hood and found that after using Trizact 3000 then 5000 the MF and Fast Correcting Cream was able to erase all the scratches with 4 passes and 2 light(no pressure) passes. The hood looks better than it ever has. Thanks Griot's! Working a DA compared to a rotary is so less stressful.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails My BOSS MF pad melted!-image_zpswodwl66w-jpg  

Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: My BOSS MF pad melted!

Here's some more pics.

Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like