autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

First timer - what next after Finishing Sealant?

Warning...I've never used a DA buffer before but am always willing to learn something new.

I recently picked up the Boss G15 Deluxe kit. I've neglected my black 2008 GMC Sierra Denali since owning it aside from car washes so it was in desperate need of some attention.

Initially I washed and clayed the entire vehicle. Then I started with the Fast Correcting Cream over the whole car with their Micro Fiber Pad, then onto the Perfecting Cream with their orange foam pad and finally onto the Finishing Sealant with their black foam pad.

It took me a good 30 hours to do all three steps over the course of a good 3-4 days...not sure if that is normal or just me learning.

I manged to disintegrate the Innerflex pad the second day of using it. My guess is it may have been used too long and got too warm. It did help with vibrations and make for a more comfortable experience...so I ordered another one and will use it more sparingly in the future.

I was extremely pleased with the results. And even eliminate some scratches that I thought were going to require alot more effort, steps and even other products. (See attached image of before/after)

My question is now that I've applied the Boss Finishing Sealant...how should I maintain the vehicle? I work from home and only put about 6k miles a year on the vehicle and it sits inside heated garage.

How long will the Finishing Sealant last on the vehicle? Should I apply the Griots Poly Wax in addition or would that not really improve the results?