autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Post Thanks / Like

My Love Affair with the Flex XCE 125-8

So I took delivery of my new cordless Flex XCE. I was so excited to get rid of the damned cord that I forgot about the other beef I have with my beloved 3401...the heat. I have only used the new XCE on one vehicle so far but I'd like to share my experience. For those who don't know me (and justifiably as I haven't been around a lot in the last few years), I am a police officer in Ontario for 28 years and I do detailing on the side, specializing in Feynlab coatings. I have been using the 3401 for probably 10 years and I love, love, love the job it does. I have my own method of correcting using the 3401 to its fullest ability...but...it would get damned hot. Especially with heavy correcting. I would have to put it in front of my portable air conditioner in the hottest times.

Fast forward to last weekend. I did a 2017 Ford Edge (no pics, sorry) with a 2 step compound/polish. I wanted to test how long a battery would last. The time almost seems irrelevant. What I found that if I ran the battery down to 1 bar out of 4, I still had OK power but decided to change out the battery. I don't want to ever run the battery down to 0. I was able to do the 2 step process to the hood (no swirls so it wasn't bad at all), 2 fenders and the front bumper all on the same battery. I did buy a 3rd battery so that after using it, it will be put in a cool down stage while one is on the machine and one in the charger. This might be overkill but I waited a long time to get it and didn't want any issues if I get a major correction job.