autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

My FLEX 3401 - Is this Normal??

Hey Everyone,

I've owned my FLEX since 2008. I'm just a hobbyist and use it on my own vehicles. I'd say I have less than 50 hours on it total. Anyway, I have some concerns about the felt ring and my backing plates. I have the original Flex backing plate, along with another set of backing plates I ordered a few years back. My felt ring is just about black at this point, and my backing plates have a "grove" in the back of them. I'm wondering if this is normal or if I need to send it in for some sort of repair / Maintenance.
    Has anyone else with a 3401 experienced this? Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks!

Here are some pics:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails My FLEX 3401 - Is this Normal??-flex-backing-plate-jpg   My FLEX 3401 - Is this Normal??-flex-head-jpg   My FLEX 3401 - Is this Normal??-flex-other-backing-plate-jpg  

Mike Phillips

Re: My FLEX 3401 - Is this Normal??

I've seen this, it wont' hurt anything.

Question: Did you lubricate the felt ring after purchase?

If not - do so now and periodically. Also - turn the felt ring over every time you do this and then lube it.

Lubricating the Felt Ring on the Flex 3401

First there is no official recommendation from Flex on this procedure but most owners of the Flex 3401 like to lubricate the Felt Ring to ensure there are no issues between it and the hard plastic backing material that it comes into contact with during operation.

For preventative maintenance reasons, it's okay to lubricate the felt ring after purchase and periodically depending upon how much use your Flex 3401 sees.