autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Forced Rotation Polisher Question (New User)

I have been using conventional rotation type buffers since the 1970's and am trying to determine if it's possible to get a roughly similar result with a Flex forced rotation polisher.

Specifically, I'm rubbing out scratches on aircraft interior woodwork typically coated with different iterations of Acrylic Enamel, Polyurethane, or Polyester mixed with fireblock.

I use the 3M 3-part Perfect-it/Finesse-it compounds following a 2000 grit final preparation and wool pads. Occasionally a panel that is too time consuming to be removed and rubbed out on the bench must be done in place and this involves hours of masking off the interior in order to buff on for a few minutes.

I'd like a way if possible, to eliminate most of the masking by using a DA type polisher at a slower speed but have no experience with them at all having always used conventional buffers.

Can anyone give me some input on whether or not a forced rotation polisher is capable of removing a 2000-4000 grit scratch pattern in a situation like I've described or if there is available something else that might do the job.

One more bit of information that may be pertinent is that I am currently using a Makita variable speed buffer typically between the 900-1500 rpm settings, the more modern the clearcoat the slower I must run.

Thank you.

Mike Phillips

Re: Forced Rotation Polisher Question (New User)

First....

This is your first post so welcome to AutogeekOnline! :welcome