autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Post Thanks / Like

Mike Phillips’ The Complete Guide to a Show Car Shine

Long time lurker and recent forum member here. I am an engineer by trade and car enthusiast by hobby.

First of all, Buy This Book!!! ...if you already haven't. It explains a lot in good detail with plenty of photos to illustrate those details.

I recently started giving serious attention to our four vehicles and the paint finishes in particular. One is garaged and rarely driven, the other three vehicles are parked outside and driven frequently. NorCal weather is mild and temperatures are moderate year-round.

I recently purchased and downloaded Mike Phillips' book and couldn't be more pleased. As an engineer with some material science, chemistry and chemical engineering coursework I am most attracted to the science behind automotive paints and finishes. This book gives and excellent technical description of what I've pondered without being overly technical or complicated. It bridges the gap between anecdotal, real-world experience of detailing vs some of the scientific papers I've read from the Chemical and Material Science communities with respect to automotive finishes and chemicals. For me, it fills in many gaps that I've been pondering for years.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Mike Phillips’ The Complete Guide to a Show Car Shine