autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Mike Phillips

Re: Why you want a SCANGRIP Sunmatch Swirl Finder Light - Initial Inspection, Final Inspection and everything in-between!

Quote Originally Posted by 2black1s View Post

Good Luck with that!

As an old painter I can say that matching an existing texture has a lot more to do with the paint application than any sanding/polishing steps. In fact, I'd go as far as to say that texture matching has to be done during the paint application.
    Good point but that oppurtuniy has already come and gone...

Lighter paint applications have a tighter center-to-center distance between the peaks and valleys of the orange peel while heavier applications will have a greater distance between those peaks and valleys. If these distances vary from the original existing finish there is no amount of sanding/polishing that will change that thus the texture is never going to match perfectly.
    Completely understand the issue but have to say, you did a great job of using words to explain the issue. As someone that writes a lot... I know how difficult it can be to adequetly describe an issue or topic using only a keyboard. I'll remember your post as I may quote you in the future. (I never steal other guys work but always give due credit where credit is due as a way of life).

I'm sure you've done enough of these kind of jobs that your, and your customer's, expectations are set accordingly.

You bet I did.
    I explained in great detail what the issues was and then 100% absolutely lower his expectations for the outcome.