autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Rejuvenating portlights

I am new to the art of detailing and have been lurking in the auto detailing forums to understand if it is possible to restore my portlights using headlight restoration products.
    And I am now more confused then before.

They are smoked acrylic lights that have become hazy over the years and difficult to see out of.

So has anyone worked on portlights for a customer or do you have an opinion from your own experience?

My attempt at a process:

Process:
    Wetsand -1500, 3000.
    Optimum Compound
    Optimum Polish
    All using 3" backing plate on a GG random orbital 3" polisher

Thoughts?

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Rejuvenating portlights

I'm not sure the best way to work on acrylic. But, I do know the last thing you want to do on any automobile surface is sand unless your sure you know its a proper method and you know what you're doing. If no one comes on that has experience working on acrylic, you might check with a local plastics distributor. Or, have you googled it?

If you're set on the above process, you might want to work in the opposite order - least aggressive first

Post Thanks / Like

Instead of going through all that, I'd try Meg's PlastX first. I use it on my license plate covers & on tail lights that are beat from the sun. Working by hand, a cotton cloth like an old thick T-shirt or terry cloth towel work well & brings back clarity where there has been fogginess.

Post Thanks / Like

Stupid question but, what exactly is a portlight?

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Eldorado2k View Post