autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

First time detailing -- 18' boat (picture)

Ok fellas.. And ladies.. This is my first attempt at detailing so bare with me.

I'll be detailing my parents (now mine haha) 2001 188cc Sailfish center console boat. To my knowledge it has never been detailed. The boat was bought new and used very little.

As for tools all I have is a HF rotary with the included hook and loop 7" backing plate. I'm looking for help on which pads to get for the rotary and which compound, polish and wax to get.

Here are a few pics of the specimen...

Exterior of the hull. Not bad at all. You can see where there was a water line sticker towards the bow but was removed.

Top side of the boat. I guess this would be light oxidation. It looks better in this picture that what it really is. The further forward you go the worse it gets. The sun hit the these areas regularly while under the shed.

The inside... This is the worst spot. No chalky residue when I run my hands over it, it just has no shine.

This is a little further down in the boat from where the above picture was taken. It was a little more protected from the sun.

So with those pictures I'm hoping that gives you experts a better idea of what I'm working with and help me out with which pads and product to use.

Any guidance is extremely appreciated!!!!!

Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: First time detailing -- 18' boat (picture)

62 views and no replys? I guess my thread title was misleading. Y'all probably thought the detailing was already completed.. Haha

Post Thanks / Like