autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Polishing gelcoat and preparing for ceramic

I have a brand new Malibu 23 LSV being built in a month, and am wanting to really make the gelcoat pop. Forgive my ignorance, but I'm new to working with gelcoat. I'm expecting some light swirling and some hazing from polishing at the factory. I have a Griots 6 in Orbital buffer that I will be using. Will buy a rotary if need be, but hoping its not needed.

First, pads. I've read several pad threads on here, and the general consensus seems to be use the Rupes blue pad. The boats these were used on were oxidized however, so I'm not sure if this pad is still appropriate for finishing polish work. What pad/pads do you guys recommend for my specific situation.

Next, compound and polish. Have been looking at the Marine 31 products, specifically the all in one compound and polish as well as the finishing polish. Not sure if these are the best for this use case. Stay with Marine 31 or is there something better out there?

Finally, I'm planning on applying a ceramic coating. Is the Marine 31 Ceramic prep spray necessary or the best product to use for this? It seems the ceramic coating industry is interesting, with endless products. Have been looking at the Shine Supply ceramic coating, as well as the several coatings mentioned on the forums. What has everyone had the best luck with? It's a 23 foot boat, so I'm not sure how much coating I need. It seems to vary by product.

Thanks in advance for all the help, I've attached a picture of what my boat is going to look like so you can get an idea of what colors I'm working with.