autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Polishing gelcoat makes it go dull - what am I doing wrong?

Polishing gelcoat makes it go dull - what am I doing wrong?

I'm fairly new to polishing boats and hit upon a curios problem. I'm hoping that some of your experience might throw some light onto what I'm doing wrong.

I've been using a Makita rotary with a heavy wool pad and Presta Super Cut Compound and parts of the boat have come up beautiful. In fact, it looks like it doesn't need any further work but I'm aware that you'd probably see swirl marks under certain light, so I thought it would be best to finish off with some light polishing.

For this I've used a Makita DA (Orbital) with a Lake Country soft green and blue polishing pads and Presta Ultra Polish. This is where the problem starts...

instead of increasing the depth of shine, it's doing the complete opposite, in some areas, it has made the gelcoat completely dull so there was no reflection at all and giving a frosted appearance.

In order to remedy this I've got the Rotary and compound out again, even so, that hasn't brought it back up to where it was originally.

I first noticed it when the Oribital was in "forced rotation" mode and I thought that perhaps I'd scorched the gelcoat so I repaired what I'd done then tried it in "Free spinning" mode but it did the same thing, though not quite so bad so there could be a clue there.

It hasn't happened on all areas, some parts are fantastic, no swirl marks and mirror like finish, so I'm pretty confused about what's causing it. I've stopped using the Oribtal now until I can figure out what's going on.

These are the things I'm thinking...