autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Groits Garage G9 favorite and Best Combination

Hi to the Community...

I have to be honest and say first that i am a newbie so beware me with my questions. I received this toy today and will like to be clear before i start to use it on my 3 cars (Nissan 350z 2004, Ford Explorer 2011 and Mustang GT 2019). To me, my paints are good as i always have maintained them manually.

Now where i want to be clear is with the Backing Plates and Pads combinations to start.

1. The Backing Plate that comes with the Polisher is 6". Can i use 6.5 and 6.0 or 5.5 with this backing plate?
    2. Can i use a 5" Backing Plate to use smaller Pads or vice-versa?
    3. What are your favorite combination and pads brand?

What will you recommend me for better combination?

Thanks in advance...

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Groits Garage G9 favorite and Best Combination

Welcome to AGO!

Congrats on the G9. You got a great machine.

The 6" backing plate is for 6.5" pads. Don't use the 5.5" pads with it. They won't extend past the BP enough, and would present a possible hazard if the edge of the rotating plate contacted the paint surface.

Use the 5" BP with 5.5" pads. etc....

As for the plates and pads themselves, you can never go wrong with a Griot's vented backing plate or their flat or Boss pads.

Lake Country flat pads are also extremely great pads.

Your new G9 will have no trouble churning any combo you may decide to use.
    It is no coincidence that man's best friend cannot talk.

3. Likes Hermes1 liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by PaulMys View Post
    Welcome to AGO!

Congrats on the G9. You got a great machine.