autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Pads failing too quickly...

Guys I need some input as I'm already getting pretty pi**ed with my pads falling all the time...
    I'm a noob still in detailing but today I detailed my 5th car...

I'm using a GG 6" ROP

My first batch of pads were Lake Country Kompressors Hydro-Tech Pads... 6.5"
    6 Inch Lake Country Kompressor Hydro-Tech Cyan Advanced Cutting Foam
    I bought 2 of each... crimson, tangerine and cyan...
    I used the tangerine pad on my 1st car and it already got tear... it was completely destroyed by the 2nd car....

The cyan / crimson kompressor pads are still fine, even because I almost haven't used them but for test spots... the gold kompressor pad is still fine after waxing 2 cars with it.

So I figured it could be because kompressor don't get along too well with DA polisher...

2nd batch of pads.... 9 Lake Country Hydro-Tech Flat pads ( 3 cyan / 4 tangerine / 2 crimson) 5.5" low profile / Meg's MF 6" kit
    Lake Country Hydro-Tech 5 1/2 x 7/8 Inch Foam Pads , hydrotech foam pads for water-based polishes, lake country foam pads, buffing pads

After 1 car....
    Tangerine pads seems to be holding but already showing degradation on the foam top layer.... I think they should hold for 3 or 4 cars....
    Both cyan / crimson are intact as they were almost not used.

Meg's MF kit also was used only with 1 car and all pads seems to be holding without any drawback at least after this first car.

But I wasn't getting a nice finish with them and ordered a new batch of pads along with po85rd