autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Microfiber vs Chamois

I'm kinda new to the high end detailing products, so I have been trying a lot of new stuff (to me) over the last couple of months. I have a new car that I wash and use a quick detailer on a couple of times a week. I haven't done anything drastic to it yet even though it was a 2010 demo and has a lot of swirls in it.

Since I like my car CLEAN at all times I don't want to spent 2 hours washing and QDing it. Here's my routine:

Rinse (1st with water only, then Meguiar's Gold Class in one of those wash guns)
    Wash (Bucket with Meguiar's and MF sponge)
    Rinse
    Dry
    QD (If I feel it needs it)

The question I have is in the drying part. I have always used a chamois (real and man made) and they always worked well for me. Quick drag across the surface and when saturated a couple of twists and I back in business. Now 1 day I'm in Manny, Moe and Jack's place and see a plush MF towel for drying. I buy and try and it works very well the first couple of times - 1 towel no wringing (I tried but it couldn't get it to release a drop of water) dryed the whole car in a jiffy. At around wash # 4 I notice it's not absorbing quite the same and leaving tiny (I mean tiny) water spots.

Next wash I get the Cobra waffle weave (brand new from AG) and the 1st pass is brilliant but as the towel become saturated (and this one I can hang wring) I notice the same teeny tiny water beads.

Oh where oh where am I gong wrong?

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Microfiber vs Chamois

Do wash these towels at one point?