autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: Do you use face mask doing detailing?

Quote Originally Posted by 57Rambler View Post
    Note that those white polyester masks shown here will only help you with particulates ... airborne matter like dust, etc.

If you are bothered by smells/fumes from solvents, harsh chemicals, and such, only the masks with the VOC cartridges are going to prevent that problem.
    I won’t disagree with you... However in regards to fumes they do work fairly well.

I used to work in a warehouse dealing with large quantities of herbs & spices, for example just working with plain ground black pepper was unbearable without wearing a mask. Chili peppers etc.. But the plain white masks they provided eliminated nearly all traces of the stong scents. And they were just the plain ones.

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Eldorado2k View Post
    I won’t disagree with you... However in regards to fumes they do work fairly well.

I used to work in a warehouse dealing with large quantities of herbs & spices, for example just working with plain ground black pepper was unbearable without wearing a mask. Chili peppers etc.. But the plain white masks they provided eliminated nearly all traces of the stong scents. And they were just the plain ones.
    I get what you are saying, Ric.

But scents (even strong ones) are quite different than chemical fumes.

At the very least, you need a charcoal layer in the mask for chemicals.

(I used to be as smart as Bob, but didn't wear the appropriate masks around chemicals until it was too late. Now I'm just PaulMys smart........

HEY!! Everything looks like noodles in here!!!