autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Post Thanks / Like

How to prep paint prior to compounding, polishing and wax/sealant?

Hello forumers, hows are you all doing?
    I’m working on a car but for some reason i stopped working on it for a while. I already finished the entire hood with compound, polish and wax, but i’m planning resume working on it and also re do the hood because i did’nt do a good finish on it, i know i left some holograms on it which bad :-( huhuhu
    What should i do to remove the wax from the hood? Or what are your advice for me to do?
    I’m a newbie to paint correction so i wanna do this the right way through your help guys... Thank u in advance forumers :-)

Post Thanks / Like

Re: How to prep paint prior to compounding, polishing and wax/sealant?

Sorry, I decided to look at your profile and previous threads.

First; the wax should not cause an issue at all, your compound or polish should remove it without any work at all. At a minimum wash and clay the vehicle, or panel, you want to work on first.

I was going to ask what type of machine you are using because I was not sure if you were not able to remove the tracers, or if you were putting them in.

After I snooped a little I read that you work at a dealership and have access to a rotary polisher and assume from what you are saying is that you are leaving tracers behind with compound step.

I also noticed that you have, or have access to, Meguiar's M85.

Is M85 the compound that you will be using?

Are you using a rotary?

And, are you using a wool pad?

If you are using these three together, please be careful. It is a very aggressive combination.