autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Post Thanks / Like

Flex 3401, Hybrid pads and Wolfgang compound, polishes and glazes

I am reading the thread started by Mike "Smack" on using the Flex 3401, hybrid pads and Menzerna products. Specifically, regarding the FG400, he recommends when compounding using the orange pad, to use only speeds 3-4 while when polishing with the SF4000, use speeds 5-6.

Since I am new to all this, I started out with a PC 7424XP and watched the Mike Phillips videos on the AG website where compounding was done at the high speed settings and polishing was done at the lower speeds which is opposite to this technique.

Now that I got my feet wet, I ordered a Flex 3401, 6.5 and 5 inch pads (orange, white and black), 4 inch LC changeable BP, and Grit Guard Universal pad washer special.

I just saw Mike's thread today but (ordered last week) the person at AG recommended Wolfgang Uber Compound 3.0, Total Swirl Remover and Finishing Glaze which is what I got.

Regarding how I use the WG products in relation to what Mike wrote on the Flex and Menzerna products I have a few questions.

1. I think the WG Uber Compound is similar to Menz FG400 so I would use the Flex at speeds 3-4, correct? I would use an orange pad.

2. The WG Finishing Glaze would be similar to the Menz SF4000. I would use a white pad and then use the Flex at speeds 5-6, correct?

3. In regards to the WG Total Swirl Remover, it seems it is between the other 2 WG products. What pad color and what speed to run the Flex? The cars in question (my wife's and my sons SUVs have previously been run through machine car washes for the last 5-10 years so have been swirled up quite a bit).