autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Pollen in the air and waxing

I just bought my first nice car, a black '07 Mustang GT. Total newbie to detailing but slowly learning. I purchased the Turtle Wax Black Box but am going to return it and buy separate products (NXT wax, etc.) Right now here in Victoria BC, there is a ton of pollen in the air. Should I wait till pollen season is over before waxing? I'll be doing it outside (no garage ) Also, I bought Meguiar's Smooth Surface Clay Kit... should I also wait to clay? Cheers

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Pollen in the air and waxing

Just wash the pollen off with a good shampoo. Do not wipe the pollen off with a towel. Pollen is actually "sharp" and will scratch your car.

Post Thanks / Like

In my opinion there are 2 answers to your question.

The first answer is you should go ahead and clay and wax your vehicle especially during pollen season. The reason is you get a good sacrificial barrier between the air born particles and your paint's clear coat. This barrier will make a bit easier to remove the pollen with a proper wash.

The second answer is you can wait if you don't like the idea of needing to reapply in a month or two when the pollen is not as heavy. Undoubtedly, pollen will collect on your vehicle's surface and it may look like you have not done a thing to your priceless jewel. So, if you not motivated to doing this twice, then you might hold off.