autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Detailing a vehicle with a clear bra...

So today I had a customer drop off his 2015 "Series Blue" Subaru BRZ (only 5k miles on it) for me to Opti-Coat. This is my FIRST time dealing with a car with a dealer installed clear bra (on half the hood, front bumper, inside the door handles, and a few other "hard wear" areas). I am doing a light polish on the whole car to insure the best possible finish before I apply Opti-coat, but I have a few questions that are probably dumb, but I have to ask anyway...haha.

1) Do you guys clay over the clear bra areas? I wouldn't think the clay could harm the clear bra in any way.

2) Do you polish over the clear bra or tape it off and avoid it?

3) Will the clear bra areas be able to absorb the coating? Basically is it a waste of coating to apply to those areas?

2. Thanks Dan Tran thanked for this post
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: Detailing a vehicle with a clear bra...

You can clay it, just make sure you only work the clay in one direction: from the clear bra side to the non clear bra side, else you will get clay stuck at the seem.

I know others have had success polishing clear bras, I think it was with M205 on a white pad on medium speed with a DA, but someone else should probably confirm that.

I've only put coatings under clear bra. Never tried on top, but it can be used on plastics, so why not clear bra?

Post Thanks / Like

1. no, I don't
    2. yes (tape edges)
    3. some coatings will Opti-coat does from what I hear

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by 98LowRanger View Post