autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New Guy Problem

Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Thumbs up New Guy Problem

Hey everyone,

I'm brand new to hand cleaning my car. I recently purchased a shiny new Subaru BRZ and read online that you really shouldn't be taking it through the car wash due to damage it can cause to the paint.

A few weeks ago I tried my first Optimum No Rinse 2-Bucket wash. I watched a bunch of youtube videos, read some articles and felt comfortable doing it. It seemed to go well enough and I didn't notice any problems. Spurred on by that, I decided to add Optimum Wax this time after cleaning it. Here's where it went south...

I had the car outside initially, but it was 80 degrees out, no clouds with the sun hammering down. By the time I was done with the wash I just couldn't stand to be out there anymore, so I took it into the garage to apply the wax. It was only after I had taken the car back out again that I realized I left streaks like the one attached in a bunch of places on the car.

Two questions. One, does anyone know if there's a good way to fix those streaks, or do I simply have to wait for the wax to wear off? Second, can someone give me pointers as to what I did wrong to cause them and how to avoid them in the future?

Thanks for helping the new guy!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails New Guy Problem-brz-streaks-jpg  

Post Thanks / Like

Re: FNG Problem

I'm not really seeing what you are talking about--do you mean the little streaks on the black window trim?

Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like