autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Post Thanks / Like

Critique my method

Thank you in advance for taking the time to read my post. Questions and areas of concern have been highlighted in RED. I have spent many years working on cars, and I am just beginning my venture into the detailing world. This forum has been so helpful and I've been very satisfied with my purchases from the store so far. Without further ado:

1) Apply touch up paint a week prior to detailing
    . I have a few deep scratches that I will apply touch a week or more in advance. This is a topic for another post, but I feel very confident in my ability to properly "fix" these scratches.

2) Wash with 2 bucket method. I plan on using a normal amount of Meguire's gold car wash. Starting with wheels, (using Meguires tire and wheel cleaner, a dedicated microfiber wheel mitt and a long handled wheel brush) then top to bottom (using microfiber wash mitt). Finish with a final rinse. Gently dry with waffle weave (starting with glass), use compressed air to blow H20 out of crevices. Is the Meguire's tire and wheel cleaner an acidic cleaner? What products are recommended for an all type wheel cleaner here? Should I pre-wash a new microfiber wash mitt like I do with my towels?

3) Clay vehicle. Using a fine clay and spray wax. Re-kneading every so often. I will do all the painted panels first, then the headlights, wheels, and glass. Wiping residue with a fresh microfiber towel. I like to take a razor blade to heavily soiled glass first, then clay. Can rough plastic surfaces like trim be safely clayed? Should I clay wheels before or after glass? Should I re-wash after this step?