autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

To clay or not to clay - that is the question

Just got my order in from AG and looking forward to spending the 4th trying out some of the products. My question is, do I need to clay, and how safe is it to clay?

The truck (Black Sand Pearl - Tacoma) was purchased from the dealer less than a month ago but I don't how long it was on the lot before, the paint feels smooth to me with only the minor swirling you would expect on a new car.

I ordered the Pinnacle Clay Kit, but now am wondering if I should use it or not? I've never used clay before and don't know if the risk is worth the reward? Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Post Thanks / Like
    From my experience and readings... clay is non-abrasive to the clear coat. Meaning there is no risk to using clay, as long as, you are working with a properly lubricated surface.

Post Thanks / Like
    Thanks for the quick response. If I could alter the question a little, I'd love to know...

Does anyone have ANY horror stories of claying gone wrong?

Super Member Driven Auto Detail's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like
    IMO, claying is one of the most under-rated tools in the detailing world (even on new cars). If you're using OTC clays, you shouldn't have any problems scratching/marring the surface. Meg's red clay is about the only clay I can think of off the top of my head that might cause some marring.
    Mike Shumaker | Driven Auto Detail
    Authorized Opti-Coat Pro Installer

Serving Central Indiana & Beyond!

Post Thanks / Like