autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Post Thanks / Like

Glaze and high quality wax question.

I have been reading about glazes. I have read that they can be used before and after wax. I have also read that they contain oils that rejuvenate the paint. Shouldn't base coat/clear coat paint be sealed and not allow oils to penetrate therefore wasting time before wax? How about applying glaze on top of wax? Do the oils and chemicals breakdown the protective qualities of the wax? I have always been curious about this and finally decided to ask.

I have been using Meguiar's Tech Wax for a few years and am pleased with it, but would like to see if I can find something I like better. I have been looking and some of the more expensive options. Is there truly a visible difference going from the $20 wax(I like Natty's blue) to something in the $50+ range. Finally, does anyone have a favorite wax that will make silver paint pop as much as silver can? Thanks in advance.

Super Member Scott@IncrediblyDetailed's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: Glaze and high quality wax question.

3-4 layers of Klasse sealant glaze is great on silver and lighter color cars.

Have you ever tried collinite 845? It's also a great wax and very durable for less than $20.

Post Thanks / Like

I have never tried collinite 845. I am a huge fan of the Klasse AIO so I should probably give the sealant glaze a try.

I did try Surf City Nano Seal and was very unhappy. Meguiars has a new sealant that I have been considering.

Post Thanks / Like

Klasse sealant does look good on silver. So does meguiar's ultimate wax. I like using both. Wolfgang's 3.0 seems good and has good reviews.

Post Thanks / Like