autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Question regarding d/a polishers- be gentle!

Not sure where to start but maybe a little history since this is my first post here.

I am a private, not for profit collector with several cars. One from the fifties, one from the sixties, and one from 1970. I am a full time HVAC technician and like to think of myself as pretty handy in most anything mechnical. That being said, I don't know much about using machines to correct a car's finish except that the paint can easily be messed up by someone who doesn't know what they're doing.

This is why I'm posting here for some advice.

I am considering buying a PC 7424XP and the most immediate purpose I intend to use it on is my wifes 2008 BMW 328. Long story short, the car is (was) in excellant condition before it sustained some paint damage this winter. It was parked in a carport with heavy duty plastic tarps secured to posts on the open side. During an extreme wind storm this tarp came loose and rubbed against the top of the door, roof edge and 1/2 the hood. There are many fine scratches (can't feel them with a fingernail) almost as though the car was sanded with really fine sandpaper.

I've been doing some reading and saw the Meguiars Microfiber system but I'm leaning towards a series of pads and M105, M205 possible so I can use the buffer on some minor problems with my other cars.

Sorry for the long post. Thank-you.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Question regarding d/a polishers- be gentle!