autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Post Thanks / Like

Best practices to maintain a correction and detail

Last question of the night. I'm still a pretty newbie and have the worst color to maintain, gloss black. Once you correct the paint and protect it with sealant and or wax, what are the best practices to keep from reintroducing swirl marks or scratches? This summer I was able to correct the top 1/2 of my black car using the Meguiar's MF DA Kit. I then sealed it with Ultima Paint Guard Plus. I always wash using 2 buckets with grit guards. 2 MF Mitts, I used CG or Meg's car wash with some ONR In it. Most times used a foaming wand attachment. Dried with a leaf blower followed up by a large MF drying towel. I stopped using store bought MF cloths and bought some Cobras and some Meg's. I quick detail in between using UQD. I feel like I'm doing my best and yet I still seem to re- introduce swirls. Am I too picky, is it just inevitable? The car is not a DD. And I don't want to have to repeat correction too many times at the risk of depleting my CC.

So what do you suggest I do different? Thanks, Spiney-Dave
    Learning to detail for fun and to show my 96 Ford SVT Cobra, Black. My dad always said I was going to wax the paint right off my car. Would wax every weekend. GG 6" DAP

Post Thanks / Like
    I think that minor spider webbing is inevitable as long as anything at all touches your paint. No method of washing and drying is fool proof in my opinion. You can reduce the risk at best.