autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Post Thanks / Like

Opti-coat 2.0 first time

First while i'm not a pro, it am pretty experienced, retired OCD engineer, i think i read almost all of the posts on this product, and had all my ducks in a row. And i do understand it's a difficult to use product. But this product is so difficult i've got to wonder if anyone could do a perfect job with this stuff without a supernatural dose of good luck. The vehicle was 91 Toy Previa w/near perfect paint met red. Polished with 85RD and did two PrepSol wipes. I started on the large top of the van to get my technique down. First issue is it took a good 4-6 oz to get the pad primed. And my excellent finish soaked this stuff up like crazy. If i put in on thin, it would flash before i could even do a second stroke so i had to add say 3-4 drops per area. IF i followed instructions and let it sit, it evaporated and left rainbows, if i quickly went back over these with the pad as the instructions state, you still will get some rainbows no matter how thin the product. So as another poster stated to do, i started letting in get 80% evaporated and then wiipe it with a dry MF similar to what one would do with tradional products, it did work. But did that remove too much product? Maybe. So now i need more product and i have several areas that need to be polished out. I don't actually have the rainbows, but i have several areas at mid panel application boundaries where shading shows. Temp 82 humid 43%. Question - how long to i wait to use the yet to be ordered Poli-Seal to save this job? To repeat, if you use the product very thin, you couldn't cover a panel any larger than 16' sq without it flashi