autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

advice on how to safely wash your car using a pressure washer

Hi all,

I'm a noob detailer (started getting into the field only a couple of months ago and have read tonns of information since), and I need your advice regarding washing a car with a pressure washer.

Until now I have used the following washing method: Sparying each panel liberally with ONR first to soften the dirt, then using the two bucket method with Grit-Guard in each bucket (First bucket contains Meguiar's gold class car wash and the second contains fresh water).

I recently got a pressure washer (1450 psi) and I do want to use it to wash the car, however I am a little afraid that using it on a dry car will cause the dirt splattering off the surface to mar the paint.

What I thought to do is this: 1) Spray ONR on each panel. 2) pressure wash that panel. 3) wash the panel using the two bucket method.

Could I please have your thoughts on the above? Would you pass on the pressure washer?

Thank you!!

Post Thanks / Like

Re: advice on how to safely wash your car using a pressure washer

To Autogeek Online.

Using a pressure washer to wash each panel prior to performing a general bucket wash is a bit of over-kill. I would feel safe to say that better than 95% of car owners that wash their car or truck do not use a pressure washer.

Do I have a pressure washer? Yes, but I use it only when I need to and never for general washing.

Wetting down the car with ordinary water will soften dirt and debris "almost" as good as Optimum No Rinse so you can save this and use it when rinsing isn't an option..

BobbyG - 2004 Millennium Yellow Z06 Corvette

Post Thanks / Like