autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Question New guy's Questions about using products and Meguiar's foam pads & wool bonnets

I am new to detailing with a polisher. I recently bought a Hitachi SP 18VA rotary polisher/sander to do my own two cars at home.

I thought I'd researched well enough and bought a great polisher, and I may have... but now I'm reading about the dual-action polishers, and how the rotary polishers can burn the paint in the hands of a beginner. So, needless to say... I'm cautiously optimistic about my new polisher.

As many of you already know, the Hitachi doesn't come with a standard size backing plate for using bonnets and pads for detailing. The one that came with the unit was a hook & loop 6.5" backing plate.

I only discovered this once I began to shop for pads and bonnets. I had already ordered 2 Makita hook & loop wool bonnets that look to be like they will fit on the backing plate that came with the Hitachi. I'd planned to use these for wax removal and polishing initially.
    2 #192629-7 Makita 7" Wool Bonnets

(actual hook & loop area apprx. 6" diameter)
    Then I stumbled upon Meguiar's "Soft Buff 2.0" series of pads while shopping on the internet. These looked to be perfect but... I had to order a different backing plate for the Hitachi. This is how I discovered Auto Geek... and bought the 6" Meguiars Mirror Glaze W68 Rotary Backing Plate that will fit on my Hitachi. This hopefully will allow me plenty of options in buying commonly found 7" pads and bonnets.

I plan to use this 6" Mequiar's W68 backing plate with the following Mequiar's Soft Buff 2.0 pads:
    #W7207 7" Foam Cutting Pad