autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0

Thread: DA Dilema

Post Thanks / Like

DA Dilema

I am looking to purchase soon and thought I would be happy with the Griots Dual Action but I just don't want to buy it only to upgrade to the edge in a few months.

If the edge 3401 is the cream of the crop, lets say it ranks a 10 out of 10, what would you rank the griots dual action?

My understanding is Griots can do what the edge does it just takes a few more passes. Is this a correct assumption?

If I am not a professional detailer, will I notice the differnce between the two DA's?

Please talk me into the less expensive DA!

Post Thanks / Like

Re: DA Dilema

I am not sure I will do what you are asking. I owned a PC for about a year and after using a Flex just once, I sold the PC and bought the flex. I realize this is not what you want to hear, but the difference in performance and usability was quite substantial. The fact the flex has about 95% less vibrations then the PC (similar to the Griots) that I was used to, it was a no brainer. The only downside is the flex is quite heavy in comparison with the PC or Griots. The trade off is that you will be done in less time.

With that said, this might help your dilemma. If this is just a hobby, you are only going to need to polish your car once a year, maybe twice if it is really needed, so a PC or Griots is going to be fine for this purpose. It does take longer in each section to correct the paint, but again, unless you get addicted like I did and start wanting to detail everything in sight, save the money and spend it on pads, polish, washer, etc.
    Last edited by skizot; 12-04-2009 at 04:51 PM.

Post Thanks / Like